FY18 Region A Awards Announcement

The Region A Awards recognize the exceptional SWE members in Region A and their contributions to our organization, the engineering profession, and the community as a whole. Congratulation to our FY18 recipients!

Distinguished Leader: Seena Drapala

Emerging Leader: Lindsay Kammeier, Ishita Mandhan, Tasha Kamegai-Karadi, and Ashley Verling

Outstanding Collegiate Leader: Rachel Lucas and Shelby Freese

Region A members at the WeLOCAL Awards Ceremony on February 24, 2018 in Phoenix, AZ.

Region A Region A Distinguished Leader Award (10+ years of professional experience)

Seena Drapala

Seena worked at General Electric for 32 years where she made technical contributions to the fields of systems engineering and power plant design engineering around the world. She facilitated the participation and recognition of General Electric’s top technical woman at 6 society conferences. Seena is a Life Member of SWE who the Section Representative of the Sierra Nevada Section. Previously she served 7 terms as Section President. Last year she was recognized by the State of Nevada Office of Governor, Brian Sandoval, for her dedication to women in engineering and STEM. Seena is truly an example of a distinguished leader, engineer, and role model.


Region A Emerging Leader (1 to 10 years of professional experience)

Lindsay and Cassi at the WeLOCAL Phoenix Awards Ceremony.

Lindsay Kammeier, PE

Lindsay is a licensed Professional Engineer who works at Schaaf & Wheeler in Santa Clara, California in the water resources field. She is the Region A and Region J Team Lead for the Leadership Coaching Committee. Lindsay has Chaired the Region A Leadership Summit, served on the LCC Subject Matter Expert Think Tank, and chaired her section’s Nominating Committee.

Ishita Mandhan

Ishita is a software engineer at LSQ and a Program Director at Girls in Tech. In SWE she is currently the Region A Secretary, Treasurer of the Santa Clara Valley Section, a Leadership Coach, and the Professional Counselor for the Stanford University SWE Section. In the Leadership Coaching Committee, she is leading an International Taskforce to support Affiliates.

Tasha Kamegai-Karadi

Tasha is a Senior Engineer at Geosyntec Consultants in Walnut Creek, California, where she has worked for over 6 years. She is currently s Region A Senator and has been instrumental in communicating Governance Changes. Tasha helped charter the Hawaiian Islands SWE Section and has outstanding achievements as a nuclear engineer at the Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard.

Ashley Verling, PE

Ashley is a licensed Professional Engineer who works at Wood Rodgers, Inc. In SWE she is the Sierra Nevada Section Secretary and has served as Section Representative and Historian. She is also a leader in the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). In ASCE, she has served as the Younger Member Forum President, President-Elect, and Historian.


Region A Outstanding Collegiate Leader

Rachel and Cassi at the WeLOCAL Phoenix Awards Ceremony.

Rachel Lucas

Rachel is a Senior studying Electrical and Electronics Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno. She is currently the Region A Collegiate Representative and the Secretary of her SWE section. Rachel has served as Section President and Vice President. She led outreach events including the First Lego League, and managed a Sustainable Nevada Initiative grant to establish a recycling and compost system at her university.

Shelby and Cassi at the WeLOCAL Phoenix Awards Ceremony.

Shelby Freese

Shelby is a Senior studying Sustainable Manufacturing Engineering at California State University, Chico. She is currently the Region A Collegiate Senator. Shelby has served as her Section’s Fundraising Chair, Public Relations Chair, and Section President. She coordinated several outreach events such as Imagineer Day and Femineers and is a top fundraiser for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital.

Congratulations to all the award recipients and thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination. We were blown away by your remarkable accomplishments.

Thank you again to our volunteers and the Region A Awards Committee for your time and dedication in honoring and selecting our award recipients.



Cassi Janakos

Region A Governor

Society of Women Engineers


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s